The Founders’ Prize in Journalism is a cash prize awarded each spring by the Oracle Editorial Board and approved by the Chairman. Two individuals receive the prize after it is determined that their work, in addition to being of the highest quality, succeeded in fulfilling the core missions of the Oracle: to practice journalistic integrity, to connect the community through a forum of thoughtful ideas, and to report on issues and events important to the student body. Award recipients must be current students and each must have written and published at least three articles upon their receipt of the prize


Inaugural Recipients (Spring 2016)


Jack Saxton '17
Jack Saxton ’17

Jack Saxton’s work in satire and student reporting galvanized the Blair community on multiple occasions, and his high quality work and dedication to the Oracle make him a perfect first recipient of the Founders’ Prize in Journalism. During the Oracle’s first official year, Saxton published 9 articles. They can be read here.

[/twocol_one] [twocol_one_last]

Sadie Britton '16 - Fiction Writer
Sadie Britton ’16 – Fiction Writer

Sadie Britton’s works of fiction and current culture continued to be some of the most complete, well structured, and in depth pieces published by the Oracle. Such intelligent writing did not go unnoticed by her peers or the Editorial Board, and her receipt of the inaugural Founders’ Prize seemed quite fitting. Britton, too, published 9 articles, which can be read here.


Blair Academy