Lakeside & Kathryn Dedicated

As the school year drew to a close last June, rising juniors grew excited, knowing they would be living in the new dorms come September. Soon enough, summer’s heat waned, and juniors, their prefects, and their dorm parents became accustomed to life in these two new, elegant dormitories.

[wzslider height=”650″ transition=”‘slide'” lightbox=”true”]

Blending into the classic Blair architectural style, gracing the entrance road, and providing a comfortable home for most of the junior class, these dorms have already been adopted into Blair’s circle of everyday life, but none of this would be true were it not for the enormous generosity of numerous donors. On October 17th, 2015, Lakeside Hall and Kathryn Hall were officially dedicated by Mr. Fortunato (Head of School), Mr. Kimmelman (Board Chairman and Blair Parent), Mr. Romano ‘74 (Board Vice Chairman & Treasurer, Chairman of the Budget Committee, and Blair Parent), and Ms. Martine D. Romano ‘04.

Mr. Romano, a member of the Buildings and Grounds Committee, included technical information in his remarks, informing guests of how the buildings had been designed not only to fit in with the historic Blair architecture, but also to be energy efficient, using LED Lights and high quality windows.

The crisp wind, bright sun, and orange trees made for a gorgeous fall afternoon on the new lawn, dedicated for the Hardwicks, and after the ribbon cutting ceremony, donors, guests, and board members took self guided tours through the buildings. Faculty opened their apartments and students cleaned their rooms for the occasion.

As Mr. Romano said, Lakeside Hall (leadership gift by the Kimmelman Family) and Kathryn Hall (leadership gift by the Romano Family) are “built to last,” and undoubtedly they will, serving many generations of Blair students to come.

(Copyright Tys Sweeney)


Tys Sweeney

Founder & Editor-in-Chief Emeritus

Tys Sweeney '17 founded the Blair Oracle in April 2015. He wrote news, fiction, poetry, and announcements for the publication until he graduated in 2017. He served as Editor-in-Chief until 2016 and was succeeded by Seth Kim.